Goals, Resolutions, Power Words?

Do you use any of these methods?

It’s natural to see a New Year as a New Starting guess.

I make basic goals each year I guess (healthier eating/ losing weight has been a regular theme most years).

This year I haven’t made any.

As midnight approached I finished one book (The Thief Of Time) and started another (Guards Guards)

Screenshot of my  Locked Screen at 22:32 as I listened to The Thief Of Time a recent update means the cover picture appears on screen.
Yes the audiobook is reading a book.

I was trying to drown out the noise of the midnight fireworks (which had been going off sporadically since about 6pm) as they were upsetting my 2 cats.

I also managed to stitch some more of my basted blocks.

Sewing together 2 half hexagons. The back of one is showing so the brown paper template is on view. The fabric is folded around this template.
Sitting with my feet up sewing.

I start this new year with one goal to embrace life.

Collage of 4 photos. 
Top left half hexagon block. Green and teal fox and floral print on lime background sewn to teal squirrel on a pink branch with orange leaves print on a lime green background. Seam runs diagonally top right to bottom left.
Top right My half hexagon I first made a few days ago. Seam runs horizontally. Top half hexagon has a pink and teal otter standing with back paws in water, front paws on a lime green rock. A second otter is peeping over the seam just his nose and eyes. The background print is triangles and stars scattered on black. The bottom half of the block is a pink and orange raccoon hugging an apple core (white with the lines drawn in teal) a second raccoon is walking out of the block under the peeping otter only his tail and bottom still on the block. The background print is white flowers and leaves on teal. 
Next to the raccoon is a second smaller hexagon for scale. My large hexagons have 3 inch sides the small one has 1 inch sides.
Bottom left 3 diamonds sewn together to make a hexagon top right lime with teal pinstripes, bottom right lime with green “70’s” strips (curves and straight lines), left lime with purple pin dots.
Bottom right my small whiteboard with 7 sets of crown paper templates (each crown is a third of the hexagon imagine cutting to the centre halfway along 2 sides with the side immediately adjacent to both left intact). There’s also the acrylic template (with added seam allowance for cutting fabric), glue pen, and biro.
On the table in front of the whiteboard is the envelope the paper templates were in and the kite templates that were also in the envelope.
I have 10 of 105 blocks done 7 of which are whole hexagons cut and basted onto the paper template.

Until next time

Happy New Year!

Published by lynnenicholson

I’m recently blind (diagnosed September 2016) but still love sewing and walking. Technology is becoming very useful to me

Leave a comment