My first “risky walk”

Describe a risk you took that you do not regret.

This Facebook memory certainly was a “risk” I took that I don’t regret (though it took me a while before I was ready to explore brand new places solo).

My then “new to me” Samsung phone on the app I used then. There’s a map of the route, and the information that it took 1 hour 18 minutes to walk 5.99km at a pace of 4.5km/h. There are also 3 “gold cup and +2” symbols that show it was the best somethings I’d done on the app.

“And this is the thing I could do today. On my own I took a walk through a small wood that actually has an entry path at the edge of our town centre. Last time I walked here was about two years ago before losing my sight. The person who was going to walk with me didn’t feel like it so decided to just go for it. Got lost somewhere in there as I came out in an area I wasn’t totally sure of but decided on a direction went for it and eventually found the road I was aiming for.
All thanks to Wanda Power (my white cane or wand of power); Captain Walker (my white walking stick); and Homi Cidal (my map app which frequently asks me to walk on busy roads with no footpath) #ThisBlindWomanCan ”

Close up screenshot of Sherrardspark Wood from the map app, showing how it hugs part of the town and has the town’s main shopping centre just to its south east corner.

As risks go walking through Sherrardspark Wood isn’t that big of a risk in comparison to crossing a busy road at the end of one way system on one side and that leads to and from a motorway junction the other side (as motorists on both sections have a tendency to being a bit too “speedy” as though their brains haven’t caught up to the idea pedestrians will want to cross the road). As the screenshot below shows visibility is restricted by hedges, and by the shrubbery on the roundabout… I often feel like the motorists feel like slowing down to go straight across would reflect upon their virility… or maybe they think they have X-ray vision… either way it’s not the safest spot for me to cross which is why I tend to go the longer, safer route these days.

Screenshot from the map app of the roundabout referred to. I’ve added an arrow with the word M1 to the road north of the roundabout, and an arrow with the words One Way System to the south. There are also roads from the east and west, both of which have houses along them (the north, and south roads don’t have immediate access to houses nor cars parked outside houses. There are 4 “island” crossings by the roundabout to allow pedestrians to cross. I crossed on the south “island”.

Now of course I’m confident trying new routes, in less populated areas, but this walk 5 years ago was the first time my only purpose was have a pleasure walk solo (before then I’d only gone with someone else, or with something else as the main purpose since my sight loss).

Until next time.

Published by lynnenicholson

I’m recently blind (diagnosed September 2016) but still love sewing and walking. Technology is becoming very useful to me

Leave a comment