Bolstering my mental health.

When I saw this prompt:-

Are you a leader or a follower?

My immediate thought was “Yes.”

I lead when I know the way, or am the more confident than whoever I’m with.

I follow when I’m learning something new, or I am less confident than whoever I’m with.

How does that lead to my title? For instance yesterday was my six monthly dental check up. I hate the dentists. I hate having people loom over me making me feel vulnerable. I hate that my Charles Bonnet Syndrome ramps up the stress by turning the dentist into a horror movie Mummy… and of course to add to the stress the new bus timetable of 1 bus an hour from my area of town means I’m going to be well early or well late. From Monday my stress was bad enough that I was checking, and rechecking the bus timetable, and trying to work out if I could safely catch the alternate bus routes the bus app suggested.

Well in the end I caught my local bus which was running slightly late (just 3 minutes) just before 11am. I got off at the bus station 10 minutes later and had 55 minutes to do a walk my map app suggests is 23 minutes. So after a brief visit to the Howard Centre loos I set off. (Yay my first escalator use since the first covid lockdown began just over 3.5 years ago).

Even ambling along and stopping to admire this wisteria smudged against the white house (photo below) I arrived ages early.

A white double fronted house (windows either side of the front door), with garage attached to the right has wisteria hanging beneath the upstairs windows and above the downstairs windows, and above the garage door. The wisteria blossom is a light lilac.

After booking myself in I sat outside for a while (about 15 to 20 minutes). They have some chairs outside and listening to the birds while admiring the greenery was a delight.

The front garden in front of the dentist office (which is an adapted house) short mown lawn large (left) large “flower beds” (right) filled with short shrubbery with a tree just inside the front well clipped hedge

At my appointment time I went into the waiting room and had the pleasant surprise of a Donny Osmond interview on the radio station playing there so enjoyed part of it during the wait (of course the dentist was running late so it was about quarter past when I finally got in for my noon appointment).

After making my next appointment I went across the road to what had been my local shop many years ago (August 1987 to September 1988) it was my first time and think it must have been expanded into what was the post office and newspaper shop next door as I remember it as a poky small shop and it felt so spacious. Anyway after a logical search I found the sandwiches, drinks, and chocolate (I had to ask for help finding a Twix because the gold wrapper I found was some other chocolate bar). I paid and headed off to repair my Mental Health by having a picnic in Sherrardspark Wood.

PS looking on Google street view it looks like they found the extra space by moving a door though I’ll have to investigate further next time I go that way (maybe a picnic at the lakes before it gets “summer busy”) as there doesn’t seem to be the depth to the other side of the door that I’d expect.

I found another wisteria draped across a house, this time with a coordinated flower bed and a lovely hedge display in the house next door (or so I thought though the red is next door but one) (collage below)

Collage 
Left:-the wisteria has an interesting twisted trunk and is trained across the single fronted white house so the blooms are under the upstairs windows and above the door (left) and window downstairs.
Top right:- expanded view including the connected mid terrace house next door which is the mirror image without any plants growing over the front. The houses have a gated covered alleyway between them.
The front gardens have brick paved driveways and flower beds the one closest to the wisteria house (on the left of the path leading to the alley) is full of flowers in various purple shades.
Bottom right looking across the lawn in front of the other house to green shrubs on their side of a hedge and red shrubs or trees the other side.

I’d decided to take a different route through the woods and enjoyed my exploring. And I found my way to Six Ways passing a flowering Rhododendron (rare within the woods as many have been removed to allow native trees and flowers to flourish). Six Ways is my favourite picnic place even if the benches aren’t the most comfortable. The birdsong was a glorious serenade as I ate my All Day Breakfast sandwich, drunk my vanilla milkshake, and ate one finger of the Twix.

Collage 
Top left rhododendron bush with pinky purple flowers 
Top right the view from my “picnic bench” of the Six Ways clearing with signpost in the middle (with “fingers” pointing in various directions), benches at the entrance of the paths opposite.
Bottom left Udderly Shaken Vanillalicious Milkshake the label has a cow’s head on the label.
Bottom left a partly eaten Twix finger against the gold packet with Six Ways as backdrop.

I took the path immediately ahead of the bench I was sat upon and enjoyed my after lunch stroll. There was a dearth of bluebells compared to Harmer Green Wood (at least as far as I could see as they were mainly in small, spaced out “clumps” so the purple was less intense and hidden by the green of the foliage. But I did spot a small carpet of purple haze (or was it a rug *wink*) protected by a barrier of lopped branches that is used by the wardens to indicate not to walk in an area.

A low fence made of loosely wove dead branches is a signal the area off the path is not for walking on. Behind this obstacle amongst the green foliage and brown tree trunks is a purple haze of bluebells.

When I finished taking a photo I saw a tiny green caterpillar hanging on a silken thread within my almost focus zone (4 inches from my nose) of course I couldn’t find it with my camera. And I could hear a woodpecker being “percussive” yet when I tried to capture the sound the awkward beggar stopped- typical.

Anyway I eventually spotted a lonely bluebell close to the path…

One lonely bluebell flower among some sparsely growing weeds

… and decided to try my Apple Watch’s camera remote to take an arty shot or 3. See collage below. I wish I’d remembered to move the “rubbish bag” with my picnic rubbish out of shot.

Collage
Left posed photo of me looking towards the camera my white cane and walking stick handles in front of me a fuzzy bluebell to the top left of the picture and the tree foliage above me masking the sky.
Top right me leaning down to adjust where the phone is laying while leaning on my walking stick to maintain balance 
Bottom right me checking my watch screen.
All photos have the tree foliage above me. I’m wearing a light grey tennis visor, green sunglasses (frame/lenses), yellow T-shirt, navy trousers.

As I got to the field on the other side of the wood I was struck by the yellow of the buttercups, and the white of daisies against the rich green grass.

Buttercups and daisies glowing against the grass

Now I was back to the streets seeing some purple I took a photo of what I thought was be more wisteria and was thrilled to see some Lilac which made me think of Terry Pratchett’s book Night Watch in which we learn why Sam Vimes, several of the watch officers, and Lord Vetinari wear the Lilac on the 25th of May. A traditional that has leapt from Discworld to many here in Roundworld who enjoy this marvellous series of books.

Masses of lilac blooms on this bush.

A photinia with it’s red and green leaves and white blossoms (some still in bud) on red stems caught my eye a few minutes later.

Photinia the leaves at the tip of the shoots are red those further down the shoot are green. The white flowers are on multi red stemmed clusters (think grapes crossed with umbrellas)some clusters of flowers are fully open while other clusters are still in bud

Then I found the icing on the cake for me. A horse chestnut covered in blossom standing like conical candles (which reminds me of the scene in Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett where they are lighting the candles.)

Collage all of the horse chestnut 
Top left at a distance to see how tall the tree is. There is a car parked next to it and so I’d estimate 25 to 30 feet.
Top left closer so I could see more of the blossom.
Both taken from across the road.
Bottom left even closer taken from the road next to tree.
Bottom right zoomed in on 2 of the blossom “spikes”
I’ve always reflected they are like conical candles with the individual flowers growing on stems spiralling off a centre stem. The leaves are like a plate the candle is displayed upon.

I was nearly home. Even finding that the paved footpath at the end of the alley was thick with slippery mud didn’t ruin my mood though I need to find out how to report it so it’s cleaned and made safe again.

Mud absolutely covering the width of the pavement for about 12 feet. Some of this mud was deep enough to reach the top of my trainers. It has ruts where cyclists have ridden through.

On getting home I fed the cats and after a couple of hours recovery time did a spot of shopping (groceries up to the weekend) and got a surprise parcel (in that it wasn’t due to arrive so soon).

I have some new plates in rainbow colours to “replace” my old white plates (which have been relegated to the top of my cupboard until I decide if they are still needed/ are still in good enough shape to be donated if I decide I no longer need them).

Collage my set of crockery in my cupboard on a wooden crockery stand. Dinner plates on the bottom shelf, side plates on the middle shelf and bowls on the top shelf.
Bottom the side plates on my dining table top row left to right Red, Orange, Yellow; bottom row left to right Green, Blue, Lilac.

If I was a video game my lives have been restored to full.

At least that’s how it feels mentally.

Until next time.

Published by lynnenicholson

I’m recently blind (diagnosed September 2016) but still love sewing and walking. Technology is becoming very useful to me

One thought on “Bolstering my mental health.

Leave a comment